Yankees Win 27th World Series Crown

November 7, 2009

I just witnessed the New York Yankees win their 27th World Series, and first since 2000. It has been a very long time that the pinstripes have been top of the baseball world, but I can’t say I’m upset or angry with their recent success.

Before the playoffs started, I predicted the Phillies to beat the Yankees in the World Series, so in a way I was rooting for them, but I am happy to see the Yanks as Champs. I figured with Lee, Martinez and Hamels on the mound they’d be fine. Hamels was not his typical self this post-season after winning the World Series MVP last year and that did cost them. Ryan Howard, who had an amazing NLDS and NLCS was cold in the finals and set a record for most strikeouts . To my surprise, the Yankees 3-man rotation worked perfectly throughout the playoffs, and the bats were just that much stronger then those of the Phils.

Growing up a Toronto Blue Jays fan, you learn to hate the Boston Red Sox and New York Yankees. It’s the same as being a Maple Leaf fan and growing up with a natural hatred of the Montreal Canadiens. As a teenager, I remember dreading the late 90s when the Yanks won 4 of 5 Championships. It was all the talk about New York and their spending ways, people would claim they bought the title. I had this same thought process like many otherĀ  naiveĀ  Yankee haters. Seeing Yanks lose in Game 7 to the Diamondbacks was a good feeling and the same with one of the biggest chokes in professional sports when they lost a 3-0 series lead to the Boston Red Sox in 2004. It was the first time in baseball history, that a team lost such a lead. Throughout their recent losing years I have gained an appreciation for the Yankees.

Read the rest of this entry »